First Presbyterian Church of Grimes Organizational Structure

Teaching Elder –  (the church pastor) is responsible for preaching, pastoral Care, and General oversight of the congregation.
Session – Together with the pastor, the Session spiritual leadership for the church. The Session is responsible for setting policies for the church and for overseeing operations of the church. Session is made up nine members. Every year, three members of the general congregation are nominated by the nominating committee to serve a three year term as a member of the Session. These nominations and any others from the floor are presented to the congregation for a vote at a congregational meeting.
Deacons – assist with pastoral care, providing a ministry of compassion to the members of our church and community who are in need. Seven ordained Deacons now serve our church and community. The Deacons are to be individually commissioned by the Session. Deacons work under the supervision of the Session.
Standing Committees – A session member is appointed as chair of each of the ten committees that are charged with the detailed operation of their respective areas of authority. Other Session members and Deacons are assigned to one of the committees. Any other interested member from the general congregation is also encouraged to serve on the committee of their choice. Those with an interest in one of these areas, please speak to the chairperson of the committee.


Nurture: -                 Chairpersons: Kristy Klyn, Bev Boyd, Gwyn Heston, Melodee Grefe and Ellen Workman
     Christian Education – Oversight of the educational programs of the congregation: Sunday School, Vacation Bible school, Community Youth, etc..
     Christian Nurture – Member care, Fellowship, etc..
     Mission & Evangelism – Outreach, evangelism, selecting missions to support, etc.

Operations: -           Chairpersons: Melodee Grefe
     Building & Grounds – Repair and maintenance of physical structures, etc..
     Finance – Stewardship Drive, Budget Management, Fund management, etc.
     Technology/Office Support - Web site, Office computers, Audio and Video equipment, etc..
     Memorial – Oversight of funds given to the Church.

Witness:Chairpersons: Carl Wong and Ellen Workman
     Worship – All phases of worship services and sacraments, management of sanctuary, etc.
     Technology/Sanctuary Support
     Nominating – Recruit and pray for those God calls to serve on Session.

Personnel –             Chairperson: Bev Boyd

Hiring, salary negotiation and management, benefits package management, etc.

Clerk of Session: Susan Ballard

Regular Schedule of Session Committee Meetings:
  • Operations:      2nd Sunday of the month, 10:30am
  • Witness:             3rd Sunday of the month, 10:30am
  • Nurture:             4th Sunday of the month, 10:30am

Ruling Elders

Current or "ruling elders" are GrimesPres members chosen to lead alongside our installed pastor in governing, discipline and strengthening and nurturing the faith and life of the congregation. seven ruling elders represent the congregation on the session and serve three year terms, with three elders 'graduating’ and being replaced each year. Elders function as liaisons between session, departments/ministries, and the congregation. An elder is a person of faith, dedication and good judgment. Their manner of life demonstrates the Christian gospel, both within the church and the world.

Class of 2019
Bev Boyd, Carl Wong, and Kristy Klyn

Class of 2020
Ellen Workman, Melodee Grefe, and Gwyn Heston


Once an Elder, Always an Elder.
Did you know that approximately 90% of members here at GrimesPres is an ordained elder. Once you are an elder you are an elder for life.

Life long elders are called to remain active and continue to be leaders in the church. They are encouraged to be informed and knowledgeable about efforts of session is working on.


Deacons are leaders who are committed to the care and encouragement of the congregation. They minister to those who are in need, the sick, the friendless, and to all who may be in distress both within and beyond the community of faith.

Our current deacons are Susan Ballard, Bev Boyd, Robbin McClelland, Phyllis Rosenbery, Gai Shields, and Bill Sharp.